Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 30th, 2009

brkWhen I asked, “Is it worth it?” this morning, I had no idea that across the continent, one of my very favorite WoW-bloggers was composing his farewell post, answering that question with a “No.”

I’ve never played a hunter beyond level 10, just long enough to tame some ridiculous pet to embarrass K-.  But I always read BRK’s blog, and I loved it when he was a guest on the WoW Insider Podcast.  I loved his sense of humor and his fiery disdain for achievements.  As K- and I camped Loque’nahak this weekend, I thought about BRK several times, about the stories he collected of hunters taming the spirit beast, about the love for a class that would make one wait and wait and wait for a rare spawn.

resto4lifeI didn’t post anything when Phaelia of Resto4Life announced her retirement from the game, even though her blog taught me so much about being a Resto Druid.  BRK’s lessons on hunters meant little to me.  I mean, the times I’ve played K-‘s hunter, I’ve just sent the pet in, autoattacked, inevitably triggered the wrong trap and hoped that if I was jumped by a Horde that I could Bestial Wrath and button-mash my way to a win.

What drew me to both Phaelia and BRK’s blogs was their passion for the game and their help in creating a community of gamers and bloggers.  We miss them already, but we let them go and wish them well in the knowledge that they will bring their love and joy and wisdom to the most important group of people:  their families.

Thank you for everything, BRK and Phaelia.  Cheetah-speed and good luck.  Fo’shizzle.

Read Full Post »

My little brother introduced me to Everquest many years ago, and in turn, I’ve introduced him to WoW.  Using the “Recruit-a-Friend” tool and the many free weeks of gaming that that provides, I’ve managed to lure him back to MMOs.  He doesn’t play that often, what with a hectic work schedule (he’s an ER nurse and works nights), a toddler (“OK, the kid’s napping.  Can you run me through Scarlet Monastery?”) and one-on-the-way, and a wife who hates video games (“Shit, she’s home.  Gotta go…”).  But he’s managed to level a little dwarf paladin to 40.  He logged in on Sunday morning and promptly linked a quest to me — code for “Help kill” or “Help.  Where?” I wasn’t certain.  But K- and I were busy.  “What are you hunting?” he asked.  “We’re camping a rare spawn for K-‘s hunter to tame,” I answered.  “Hour 8.  Yay?” K- added.  “Holy shit,” my brother replied, “Is it worth it?”

“Is it worth it?” — it’s a question we ask ourselves in game a lot.

I could go harvest herbs for an hour or so, or I could pay 20 gold for a stack.  Is it worth it?  Should I put an enchant on this item when I know I’ll see an upgrade in the next week?  Is it worth it?  Should I buy this item from the Auction House for my alt?  Should I stay in this shitty PuG?  Should I respec?  Should I delete this quest?  Should I work on this faction?  Should we wipe on this boss so we reset the encounter and try again for the achievement?  Is it worth it?

What makes something “worth it” in game?  Time spent?  Money saved?  Quality of gameplay?  Good companionship?  A means to an end?  Or something else?

Read Full Post »